12 weeks!

Psych. I wish I was 12 weeks along!

What this post is really about is the whole “don’t share your pregnancy until after your first trimester” thing.

I just don’t understand it.  I recently had a coworker share her miscarriage story, and she discussed how hesitant she was to share a miscarriage as nobody even knew she was pregnant, because it was still first trimester.

I feel like all that silly rule does is put a stigma on miscarriage. You don’t tell people, because if you lose a baby early on, it must be somehow your fault and you don’t want people to judge you. It just makes no sense.

I can  think of so many reasons to share your pregnancy early, and to share your miscarriage if it happens.  I know for me, it was so hard to go work everyday. But because my close coworkers knew my story, they had the sympathy and understanding if I needed some time, or some space, or if I didn’t want to talk about others successes. Or they were available if I did need to talk. Or needed anything. And not just my coworkers but the remainder of my friends and family. I didn’t have to make up some lie of why I was feeling down, or why I didn’t want to go out.

Why should people in your life not be privy to details of it?  Why should I have to hide something just because that’s what people tell you to? If you have a miscarriage, or any health issue for that matter, it should be up to you if and when you  share.  Society shouldn’t tell you otherwise.

And on the same token, what if you want to wait until you’re 20 weeks pregnant to tell people? Or 5 weeks and everything’s going great, and you want to tell people?  It should be up to you. It’s your body, your life, and other people shouldn’t dictate how you live it.

That’s my 5 minute rant and rave. I have no other news to share (for now at least!) other than we’re working on it. I’ll let you know soon, wordpress world!

XOXO

Author: myinfertilitystruggles

I am a wife, dog-mom, pediatrician, and new Mom. This blog started as our struggles with infertility, and now has become our story of having 30 week premature twins. Check out our instagram! @dulatwins

One thought on “12 weeks!”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started